Planning Commission renamed as ‘Neeti Ayog’

Planning Commission renamed as ‘Neeti Ayog’

Jan 1

Following up on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Independence Day announcement that the Planning Commission would be replaced, the government, today, renamed the plan panel as ‘Niti Aayog’. The renaming of the Planning Commission is being seen as the first step towards replacing it with a new-age institution. According to agency reports, the new structure will have the Prime Minister, some Cabinet ministers and some chief ministers along with technocrats and experts in various fields. Renaming the e Planning Commission, decision comes nearly three weeks after Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 7th December last year held consultations with Chief Ministers at a meeting where most favoured restructuring of the Socialist-era body. However, some Congress Chief Ministers opposed disbanding of the existing set-up.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s