Cairn Juniors Hockey Cup 2015 enters day four

GBSSS, Begumpur and SBV, Ashok Nagar

New Delhi, January 18, 2015: The inaugural Cairn Juniors Hockey Cup 2015, being played at the Shivaji Stadium in the city entered day four today. In a junior’s (U-17) match GBSSS, Khanpur beat GBSSS, Saket J Block 1-0 in a closely contested game. Khanpur took an early lead in the 7th minute and it was enough for them. Saket J block did try to make a comeback and created few opportunities nut failed to find the back of the net. Kalvinder Singh scored the winning goal for GBSSS, Khanpur.

In another juniors game SS Mota Singh, Janakpuri thrashed DTEA, Mandir Marg 7-0 in a one sided game. The boys from Janakpuri took the lead in the 14th minute and there was no stopping them from thereon, as they completed a comprehensive victory. Harnoor and Amandeep scored two goals each, whereas Rahul,Deep and Prabjhas scored a goal apiece.

In the third game in the junior category Anglo-Arabic SSS, Ajmeri Gate and GBSSS, Ashok Vihar played a goalless draw.

In the last game in the junior category GBSSS, Saket J beat SBV, Janakpuri 2-0. Sushil scored the first goal in the 9th minute and Sonu doubled the lead in the 43rd minute.

In a sub junior (U-14) match GBSSS, Begumpur and SBV, Ashok Nagar played a thrilling draw. SBV took the lead in the 16th minute and doubled the lead in the 19th minute. The Begumpur boys made a remarkable comeback and scored three goals in the next 25 minutes to take a 3-2 lead, however SBV scored in the dying minutes of the game to level the score at 3-3. Ganesh socred two goals and Manish scored one for SBV. Kishan Kashyap scored a couple and Mohan scored one for GBSSS, Begumpur.

In another sub junior game VCS Agriculture, Khera Kheri completed a comfortable victory over SBV, Ashok Nagar as they beat them 4-0. Manish scored the first goal in the opening minute of the game.  Captain Sunny, Suraj and Sushil scored the other three goals for VCS Agriculture School.

Schedule Day 4 – January 19

Junior category (Under 17)

11.30 hrs

Modern School, Barakhamba Road


Army Public School, Daula Kuan

13.00 hrs

GBSSS, Saket J


Delhi Police Public School

14.30 hrs

SS Mota Singh, Janakpuri



15.30 hrs

SBV, Ashok Vihar


GBSSS, Mahrauli


Sub Junior Category (Under 14)


GBSSS, Mb road


SBV,Ashok Nagar


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s